The African Volleyball Championship starts to take shape


By John Kwoba

NAIROBI, Feb. 6 -- Former volleyball giants Kenya Pipeline will join 20 other teams in the battle for the Africa Club Championships, which will be held in Cairo, Egypt next month.

A total of 21 teams from nine African countries will be locking horns for continental bragging rights and a chance to seek qualification to the World Club Championships.

It has been 13 years since Kenya Pipeline held the continental title and head coach Japheth Munala is under pressure to deliver on the 14th attempt.

"We have strong opponents, but we have also recruited strategically so that we may have a fighting chance. This tournament is the biggest in Africa and we must get it right," Munala said on Tuesday in Nairobi.

Organizers have confirmed that with the deadline for submission of entries fast approaching, the 2018 Women's African Club Championship has already attracted a record 21 teams.

"The African Volleyball Confederation (CAVB) has confirmed Feb 10 as the deadline for the African teams to send in their entries. The top teams have since confirmed, but there is still room for more before the deadline on Friday," said Tarek Al- Adwar, the CAVB communications officer.

The last tournament, held in Tunisia attracted 18 teams. This year, Kenya will have two teams, Pipeline and Kenya Prisons.

Both have won this competition before with Kenya Prisons having represented Africa at the World Club Championships on two occasions.

Egypt's side Al-Ahly have won the continental title a record eight times. Kenya Pipeline are second while Prisons from Kenya have won it five times. The three teams have confirmed their participation.

Other teams involved are defending champions Carthage of Tunisia and their compatriots Marsa, last year's silver medalists Shams Club (Egypt), Alexandria Sporting (Egypt), DGSP (Congo), Asec Mimosas (Cote D'Ivoire), Vision VB, Nkumba University (Uganda), BDF (Botswana), AS Douanes (Burundi), Muzinga (Burundi), Canon de Ndjii, VB Club (Congo), Injis, FAP, Bafia and Nyong et Kelle (Cameroon).

The competition will be hosted at the Al-Ahly Halls in Cairo from March 6-15.

来自:VOA英语网 文章地址: